Skip to main content

Targa Florio Classica 2022 belongs to the Sicilians

By 26/10/2022October 28th, 2022No Comments

Targa Florio Classica 2022 belongs to the Sicilians

The Targa Florio Classica 2022 in Sicilia was a triumph for locals with two Sicilian crews coming home in the top 5 in Fiat 508 C cars.

Mario Passanante and Dario Moretti won in their 1937 Fiat 508 C.  the event proving very exciting tussle with the decided in the last meters of the race which resulted in Angelo Accardo and Filippo Becchina, securing second place at the finish line. Francesco and Giuseppe Di Pietra, third ahead of Gianmario Fontanella and Annamaria Covelli in a 1939 Lancia Aprilia and fifth a Sicilian team from Trapani, Campobello di Mazara Enzo Ciravolo and Francesco Messina.

Also driven to the last meter the three way duel won for the series championship  was won by Francesco and Giuseppe Di Pietra who finished ahead of Fontanella – Covelli in the race standings, and thus are the new Italian Champions of the Great Event series and winners of the ACI Storico Series, which combines the scores of the Targa Florio, the Coppa D’Oro della Dolomiti and the “Mugello Road Circuit”. The father and son, secured the title for Campobello di Mazara for the second time after triumphing in 2018.

-“A very difficult victory in the most critical event – said Passanante – Three mechanical failures that delayed us and we recovered – amazing. We are very grateful to the mechanic Fabrizio Falanga who enabled us to win. A strong joy”.

-“The first stage was very difficult for us, as Giuseppe had competed with another person, – explained Francesco Di Pietra – a race that earned a title, demanding with certainly strong opponents, decided at the last meter. We competed with a lot of luck and we won our second Italian Major Events Championship”.

-“The Targa Florio is confirmed as very competitive, nothing is taken for granted until the end, especially if the opponents are those with whom we measure ourselves in these days– said Accardo – The Campobello school is very competitive. Regularity is an exciting discipline and thanks to the communication work carried out by the Federation, it is increasingly in the foreground”.

Success in the Ferrari Tribute to Targa Florio 2022 goes to the Tuscan’s Fabio Vergamini and Anna Maria Fabrizi in a 2015 Ferrari 488 GTB. Second position to Mauro Ferrari and Maria Paola Saetti in a Ferrari Monza SP 2, ahead of the Roman team of Celestino and Oreste Sangiovanni.

Three days in which Sicily expressed all the affection towards its race born in 1906, which brought the crews and classic cars to discover many places on the island, many of which are inextricably linked to car competitions.