Skip to main content

Car Categories for 2019 Targa Florio Australian Tribute

By 23/04/2019June 14th, 2019No Comments

The Car categories for the Targa Florio Australian Tribute have been have been chosen to cater for a variety of car enthusiasts whilst upholding the European origins of this historic event. The combination of each of these car categories certainly provides the variety to attract a broad base of car enthusiasts and spectators.

The most popular category over the last two years has been the Classica Trofeo category. This category is open to cars manufactured between the years of 1906 and 1976. This date range relates to Vincenzo florio beginning the event in 1906. Honouring the event origins when it first began in city of Palermo in Sicily, Italy. 1976 marks the final year of the race as a speed event in Italy. It was discontinued due to safety concerns and transformed into format it is today. In 2017, International Regularity Driving legend Giordano Mozzi and wife Stefania Biacca won the event. In 2018 the Classica Trofeo remained in international hands when the pairing of Angelo Pizzuto and Himara Bottini won in fine style.

The glamourous Ferrari Tributo category once again provides Ferrari lovers the chance to enjoy the Targa Florio Australian Tribute within their own dedicated category. Ferraris from 1977 are eligible to participate in this category. Ferraris that precede 1977 will compete in the Classica Trofeo category. Previous winners of this category include local drivers Carlo Travaglini and former Australian Driving Champion, Alf Costanzo in 2017. In 2018 the father and son combination of Robert and Sam Marsh won in their red 1982 Ferrari.

2018 ushered in the introduction of a new car category, the Supercar Trophy. Due to strong interest from Supercar owners, a category was created for genuine factory made Supercars from 1990. There were certainly some beauties amongst the field last year with the eventual winner being none other than the 2017 Classica Trofeo winners Giordano Mozzi and his wife Stefania Biacci. They made the switch from their classic Porsche 356 in 2017 to an eye catching Alfa Romeo 4C.

New in 2019
‘La Corsa Scuderia’ Team Award..

We have introduced a new award this year along with the category awards.
La Corsa Scuderia (The Racing Team) Award. A team will be made up of 3 cars. They can be within the same category or across categories. Over the last 2 years, many life long friendships have been formed amongst competitors. This is an opportunity for friends to register as a team and combine their points for this award.

Leave a Reply